News Article


NSW boys and girls teams named for National U17s Youth 7s Championships in Perth this weekend

Four NSW 7s teams are all set and ready to fire at this weekend’s National U17 Youth 7s Championships in Perth. Both NSW 7s girls and boys teams are looking to defend their title as previous National Youth champions.

Together 24 youth girls and 24 youth boys have completed preparations and begin their journey westwards. Each player represents local towns and communities across NSW, areas that gave them their first taste of Rugby and has now led them to representing their state with the great opportunity to press for selection in the 2017 Australian Youth Commonwealth Games squad.

The NSW Youth Boys’ assistant coach, Gerard McLenaghan says these teams are the cream of the crop of NSW youth 7s.

“The players in these team have been scouted from various tournament over the past nine months, including the recent NSW State Championships, NSW school championships and schoolboy Rugby competitions,” McLenaghan said

The healthy growth of Rugby 7s in this state can be seen through the strong competition in both 7s and 15s programs.

Across the two programs coaches and managers have had the difficult job of cutting over 50 players down to just 24.

On top of training, these players have competed in tournaments like the Southern Highlands 7s, Central Coast 7s and various internal trials to give them a solid amount of confidence in their structures heading to Perth.

McLenaghan describes the vibe within the camp as “outstanding,” and is excited by the capabilities of the team.

“It is by far the most balanced team we could have put together with a sound balance of size, speed, playmaking ability and real work horses,” McLenaghan said

NSW Rugby Union would like to congratulate the following players on their selection and would like to extend their best wishes to them as they represent NSW at the National U17 Youth 7s Championships:


NSW U17 Youth Boys             


Nath Lawson (VC)           

Tom Woodcock (C)         

Alan Tuigamala 

Jake Styles         

Will Harrison (VC)            

Triston Reilly     

Yool Yool             

Billy Smith          

Matt Stead        

Hunter Ward     

Dom Easy           

Keiren Mundine              


NSW U17 Youth Boys - White               


Nick Dolly (VC) 

Ben Duckworth

Max Swanenberg           

Ryley Angles-Cork (C)   

Mike Pavlakis    

Tom Glascott    

Jonny Mitsias    

Matt Dutaillis    

Will Morley        

Percy Duncan   

Jack Walsh         

Said Halbouni    


NSW U17 Youth Girls - Blue


Hannah Southwell (C)     

Keeley Davis     

Arabella Mckenzie          

Page McGregor (C)           

Madison Higgins-Ashby

Tamyka Laws    

Brydie Parker    

Rachel Fear        

Lillyann Mason-Spice     

Layne Morgan  

Akira Kelly          

Abby Holmes    


 NSW U17 Youth Girls - White         


Rhiannon Byers (C)           

Nat Crow            

Teagan Miller    

Tatum Bird         

Sariah Paki         

Jonell Lemusu (C)              

Jakiya Whitfeld

Jade Huggins     

Jade Matapaku

Aliyah Helu        

Emma Bradford

Rikeyah Horne